3 Books, 1 Post

Time to do some mini reviews of the books I borrowed last time I went to the library.

(You can click the title of the book to see my full-length reviews that I post on goodreads.)

These books have been the first time I’ve read YA in a while and it was quite refreshing to have some easy reads inbetween all the other books I’ve been reading.

_MG_9988

Whenever I go to the library I always limit myself to borrowing three books at a time so I have time to read them all before I have to return them. I’ve decided that every time I finish those three books I’ll make a post like this one so it becomes a kind of mini review series. Let’s go!


Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

_MG_9666

I had high expectations for this book as I had continuously gone to buy it in bookstores but never did. When I finally read it, it was a complete disappointment. My main pet peeve was the poor way it was written. The idea for the story had potential that could’ve made it great but instead just made the book seem like a failed attempt at creating John-Green esque characters.

1/5 stars 😦

More Than This by Patrick Ness

_MG_9999

I have many conflicted opinions about this book. It took me a while to get into it as it was fairly slow paced at the start and I had no idea what was going on. Once I got past the first few chapters though, I was hooked. However, I’m not sure if I actually enjoyed the story. About half way through, the story turns into a cliche sci-fi kind of thing with the classic ‘none of this is real’ and unnecessarily complex explanations to everything. It was not at all what I was expected when I started reading this book. Despite not knowing if I actually enjoyed it, I kept reading because the writing was full of so much tension which was clearly intended by the author and is really talented writing. 

3.5/5 stars

Saint Death by Marcus Sedgwick

_MG_0007

This book was incredible! I had low expectations because of a skull on the cover but I was clearly wrong to judge it by that. The story and characters were so well-written and the whole thing was just so authentic!

The story itself is about life on the Mexican-American border and living among gangs, poverty and more. So many themes are covered in the book everything fits together perfectly. To top it all off, the ending was perfect and final but in the way that leaves you thinking for ages.

5/5 stars. This is now one of my favourite books.


So, have any of you guys read these books, or want to? And what’s your opinion on YA? Personally, I don’t read it much but after these I’m thinking of getting into it again.

6M4Jpc

2 thoughts on “3 Books, 1 Post

  1. I haven’t read any of these, I might try Saint Death, but I probably won’t bother with the other two…
    Personally I love YA. Until recently I was mostly reading MG, but I was way to old for it, and was deathly bored by most of it… So I gave YA a try, and I’m now obsessed.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

